Dearest Elvis,

You may not recognize my name right off, but you know me just the same. Day by day, hour by hour, minute by minute, the connection has expanded. Your reciprocal feelings grew stronger with each meaningful glance and every songbird note delivered.

Attention was glaringly demanded by those that screamed and screeched like banshees. You couldn’t help but notice and honestly, that’s ok. I had no need to compare myself to others. There will always be a faster gun. Positive or negative intent isn’t the issue, it’s the attraction that’s steadfast. They simply couldn’t help themselves. I understand. It’s not my style, never was. I was the one you were beginning to realize and appreciate just as much, if not more.

I’m a sincere, loving, faithful, cerebral fan. I had no need to make a spectacle of myself but my emotions were every bit as intense as theirs. I didn’t shout your name except within my heart. I didn’t wail and jump, but my heart certainly leapt at the sound of your sweet voice or the sight of your shy smile. Unlike others, the tears I shed were private, not public, except for the ones as you left the building. The intensity recalled fills my soul and I am both soothed and overcome at the same time by the memories.

While I may not have been as vocal, what I feel inside is still unequaled. I had no need to shout. You knew I was there. As your career continued to soar, so did my adoration and love. We shared an unspoken mutual respect for deep thought and reflection. You were much more than what bubbled atop the waves as am I. We both know the surface is only a minuscule portion of the expansive sea. All that is truly alive is in the unseen depths.

Never question quiet fans or silent tears. What is intangible is often more vivid than what shows itself. As you lived your life, I studied you intently. As you got to know and to understand me, be assured I was a multitude rather than one. As you matured, so did I. As you grew in your legacy like a plant turning its face toward the sunlight, the delicious fruit of your labor was abundantly shared by many.

There is no need to ever doubt, darling Elvis. I speak for many. Be assured you are unequivocally and forever loved.

Sincerely,

The Silent Fans